New Maryland Sick Leave Law
April 16, 2018 By Emily F. Belanger
Maryland’s 90-day legislative session has come to an end and a new sick leave law was enacted.
Employers with employees whose primary work location is in Maryland are required to provide earned sick and safe leave, regardless of where the employer is located. Under the new law, Maryland businesses with 15 or more employees are required to provide up to five days of paid sick leave a year. Employers with 14 or fewer employees are required to provide unpaid earned sick and safe leave.
Both paid and unpaid leave will accrue at the rate of one hour of leave for every 30 hours worked. This law went into effect on February 11, 2018. Click here to see DLLR Maryland Earned Sick and Safe Leave Employee Notice.